Sedona, Arizona with my crazy parents

So, last time I had just left Carol and all the Wormtown hippies and was heading north. Sunday morning after the party in Tucson I drove the 3.5 hours north to Sedona, where I checked into the hotel that my parents had booked for their anniversary, unfortunately for them, they were delayed until Tuesday due to snow. The drive from Tucson to Sedona was miserable. I was tired, dirty, and worst of all, hungover. I arrived, checked into the hotel and spent the next 24 hours in a state of complete relaxation, I took my first shower in four days, I laid in a bed for the first time in over a week, I ordered pizza to my room and watched The Walking Dead marathon that was on all day. You must understand, I am really enjoying this adventure that I’m on, but being constantly on the move, and crashing people’s couches means that you never get a second to fully relax, so if I get a huge hotel room to myself for a couple of nights, I’m very content to lounge, veg, and rejuvenate.

IMG_0775

Monday I was feeling much better, but didn’t do much of anything. I did manage to hit the grocery and liquor store and cook myself dinner. My parents arrived on Tuesday evening, and we were all starving so we went out for dinner and drinks and managed to make it to bed at a decent hour.

Wednesday, however, was my parents anniversary and we had a great day. We started the day with margaritas, then took a Pink Jeep Tour into the mountains, drove over crazy terrain, and saw some awesome rocks.

IMG_2064 IMG_2065  IMG_2073

IMG_1982IMG_2037

When we were done we decided we needed more margaritas and had a snack and we drove back towards the hotel for dinner. However, we decided we weren’t really ready for dinner, so I went back to the liquor store and got all the fixings, and started making our own margaritas, which were obviously delicious. By 8pm we were starving, so we went to an amazing restaurant called Ken’s Creekside, where I switched to a nice Hendrick’s martini, the rents however stuck with their tequila. We ate Ahi tuna tartar, buffalo chicken pizza, and escargot, it was unbelievable. After returning to our room we tried our best, but regrettably, could not finish the tequila we had bought. It was not a day for the faint of liver.

IMG_0783 IMG_0785 IMG_0786

Thursday morning, surprisingly, both of my parents we up bright and early, and had gone out for bloody-marys before I even made it out of bed. Not as surprisingly, I slept until after 11, and then felt awful half the day. We drove about 45 minutes up into the mountains to a mountain town called Jerome, and had the best cheeseburgers at the Haunted Hamburger, which were just what I needed, then just walked around, looking around the town most of the day, it was full of history and art galleries. Last night we were in pretty early and just lounged around.

IMG_0792

Cheddar, bacon, tomato, guacamole at the Haunted Hamburger

IMG_2084

 

 

 

 

 

This morning, we got up, started the day with a cocktail, then went hiking. We hiked up to an area the Native Americans refer to as The Vortex, which is a spiritual area that is supposed to balance out your yin and yang, and then out to Boynton Canyon. The sights are amazing out here, all of the rock formations are incredible, in both size and color. No description I give does it justice, and even photos don’t accurately display the grandeur. Its also not just when you go hiking, any view out have has these towering rocks formations, the colors are awesome, the weather is awesome, around 70F today, I even got a little color. However, I am definitely the youngest person in Sedona by about 25 years. Its a huge retirement community and their major money-maker is tourism, but its mostly really cool older people who wanted to retired somewhere warm and beautiful.

IMG_2097 IMG_2104 IMG_2119 IMG_2116 IMG_2132 IMG_2143 IMG_2148IMG_2021

Tomorrow morning we check out, my parents drive to Phoenix and jump a plane back to the snowy northeast, meanwhile, I’ll be heading west. California, here I come!

2 thoughts on “Sedona, Arizona with my crazy parents

Leave a Reply

