San Francisco and Napa Valley

I left Yosemite and drove to Tracy, CA about an hour west of San Francisco and did some car camping in Wal-Mart parking lot, then woke up Saturday morning and drove the rest of the way into San Francisco. I spent most of Saturday wandering around San Fran, seeing the beach, hanging at Starbucks, etc. Saturday night I ended up at 21st Amendment Brewery, where I met up with a friend I met in Wisconsin, she was in Cali for the weekend and her uncle owned the brewery, which had excellent beer.  Did a little more car camping Saturday night and a little more exploring Sunday.

IMG_0820

Me and Lucy at 21st Amendment

Sunday morning I went to brunch at Nova Bar and had bottomless mimosas and triple bypass eggs Benedict with bacon, sausage, and ham, it was really awesome. Then after an undisclosed amount of mimosas I wandered around the city, saw the pier, walked down by the beach and over to the bridge, which was really incredible.

IMG_2774 IMG_2794 IMG_2814 IMG_2810

After all that I met up with Calvin, who I met on couchsurfing and who hosted me for the night. We went and got Mexican food and a movie and spent the night chilling out. It was the first bed I had slept in in 3 nights, and the first shower in 3 days as well, I was pretty ripe.

We woke up and spent all day Monday wandering around San Francisco, we took the bus and the subway all over the city and saw Golden Gate Park, which is pretty amazing, we went to a used CD store, where I got a sweet deal on some music, we went to Clarion Alley and saw all of the graffiti, we went into Japan Town and had ramen noodles, we went downtown and looked in the fancy stores and saw the trolleys.

Golden Gate Park and Ameoba Music

IMG_2856 IMG_2859IMG_2886

Clarion Alley

IMG_2921IMG_2919

Japan Town

IMG_2898IMG_0822IMG_2895

It was an epic day, Calvin was an enthusiastic and gracious host and I feel like I got a really good idea of what San Francisco is like. It’s a great city, really clean with lots of culture, however, the homeless population was staggering. There were homeless people everywhere, on every corner, like nothing I’ve ever seen.

IMG_2876

I guess it’s a nice place to be homeless…

Monday night I jumped back on the road, grabbed some frozen yogurt, drove over the Golden Gate Bridge, and headed towards Napa, CA. I didn’t have a ton of time in Napa, which was just fine because there is nothing cheap about Napa Valley, but I did go out for a late night happy hour for some grub and some wine and found a nice neighborhood to park in and get some sleep. Tuesday morning meant lots of driving and a new adventure!

IMG_2934

One thought on “San Francisco and Napa Valley

  1. Hi man! Just saw this post… I’m so glad to help you out for a night! It is such an awesome Monday! Hope you having a great venture up to north! Love the photos btw! 😉

Leave a Reply

